Creativity, self-improvement

Possible projects

Note: This post is one of a bunch I will be publishing from time to time. These posts will reveal personal, social, and professional rules and practices I follow to help keep me productive, creative, and happy. Some of the rules or practices may not apply to you, but I thought I would share to see if they can be of use to people.

This is another practice I picked up from Derek Sivers. I call it “possible projects.” The basic premise is this: sometimes you have too many ideas pop into your head that take you into a million directions. You want to write a book, you want to start your own business, you want to create your own course, you want to build a website, etc.

You know you can’t do it all at once, but you also know that you don’t want to let go of these ideas. So what do you do?

What I do is create a file for each possible idea. Then I put all these “possible projects” into a folder (actually a notebook in Evernote, but same difference). And voila!

Most of the projects include ideas that I probably will never get to; but some of them do turn into projects that I’ll actually work on.

Doing this allows me not only to give an idea a chance for consideration later, but to give my mind a break by letting it not get consumed by a possible project. Right now I have 25 possible projects in there (some of which I actually did turn into real projects).

I love this practice because I never get bored now. I always have something to work on, something to apply and develop my skills towards. Maybe it’ll have the same effect for you.

Leave a Reply

