Power, Psychology, Social Influence

Let them give their two cents

Note: This post is one of a bunch I will be publishing throughout the weeks. These posts will reveal personal, social, and professional rules and practices I follow to help keep me productive, creative, and happy. Some of the rules or practices may not apply to you, but I thought I would share to see if they can be of use to people.

If you can help it, never present a fully-fleshed idea for people to accept or not accept. Instead, give them incomplete ideas – ones that, ideally, they’d be interested in – and ask them if they can give you ideas on how to improve it.

For example, I once took it upon myself to create a handout for work.  The purpose of the handout was to give to our customers.

To increase the likelihood of my handout being accepted, instead of presenting it, fully done, to my supervisor, I gave a very rough draft and asked if she had any ideas for improving it.  She gave me her feedback, I implemented the changes, and, because she gave her two cents, she ended up using the handout.

Always give people you’re working with a chance to improve your work. They are much more likely to take interest and responsibility for it.

Leave a Reply

