Power, Psychology, Social Influence

Smile and laugh

Note: This post is one of a bunch I will be publishing throughout the weeks. These posts will reveal personal, social, and professional rules and practices I follow to help keep me productive, creative, and happy. Some of the rules or practices may not apply to you, but I thought I would share to see if they can be of use to people.

This is an easy practice that works wonders for me:

Smile at everyone you meet and talk to. Smile when you don’t want to (smile especially if you don’t want to). When you’re smiling, whether or not you really mean it, you’re saying indirectly: “I am open to you. I accept you.”

Laugh with people (but never at them). Laugh often, even if what someone says is not really that funny. Make a conscious effort to laugh.

When you laugh with people, you’re saying: “We have the same humor, so I like being around you.”

Who can resist messages like these?

Leave a Reply

